Sarah Nilsson JD, PhD, MAS
Sarah NilssonJD, PhD, MAS





Ministry of Public Administration, Transport and Telecommunication




UAS Regulations translated by Jimenez-Oyarzun Guillermo


What is a drone?

What do we want to regulate?

General trades of the regulation

Flight zones

RPAS categories

Operations categories

Other important aspects

Drones are planes or aerial systems without a pilot onboard.

We regulate aerial systems remotely controlled from up to 25kg (or 55lb), commercial use, particular use or state used.

We do not regulate aerial systems that weigh more than 25kg (or 55lb)

We do not regulate autonomus RPAS nor RPAS that weight more than 25kg (or 55lb)

We do not regulate military RPAS

We do not regulate high risk RPAS

Nowadays, the European regulation is not unified so we worked out a specific regulation

The starting point are nearby regulations and rules (French and Spanish), but following all new EASA recommendations

We establish operational rules and verification mechanisms which do not require new administration structures

The regulation is based on 3 fundamental pillars:

1.Flight Zones: We classify all national terrain according to flight necessities.

2.RPAS Categories: Classified according to weights so regulations can fit each characteristics.

3.Operational risk: We categorize all operations, increasing requirements according to operational risk.

3 types of flying zones are defined according to the operational risk

1.Forbidden area

2.Limited flying area: Limited according to operational characteristics

3.Free flying zone

Initially, we differentiate among urban areas, extra urban areas and specific areas according to regulations

RPAS categories generate operational limitation according to sizes

We classify RPAS in 3 categories:

A0: Toys and mini-drones, weigh between 0 and 999g

A1: Really small RPAS, weigh between 1kg and 3.99kg

A2: RPAS small, weigh between 4kg and 25kg

Operational categories have modulate requisites according to operational risk.

Open: Contains all operations with low risk for 3rd person. It does not require administrative authorization.

Specific: Contains medium risk operations and all comercia operations. It requires evaluation and risk mitigation with obligatory formation. It always requires administrative authorization.

Certificate: Contains all operations that require any type of certification. High risk operations fall under this category. It always requires administrative authorization.

Open flights are limited to free and limited areas. Specific and certificate flights are allowed in all areas.




Drones in the news



Contact Me

Sarah Nilsson, J.D., Ph.D., MAS


602 561 8665


You can also fill out my 

online form.




Get Social with Me

View Sarah J. Nilsson's profile on LinkedIn



Legal Disclaimer

The information on this website is for EDUCATIONAL purposes only and DOES NOT constitute legal advice. 

While the author of this website is an attorney, she is not YOUR attorney, nor are you her client, until you enter into a written agreement with Nilsson Law, PLLC to provide legal services.

In no event shall Sarah Nilsson be liable for any special, indirect, or consequential damages relating to this material, for any use of this website, or for any other hyperlinked website.



Steward of 

Little Free Library



I endorse the following products

KENNON (sun shields)

Print Print | Sitemap
© Sarah Nilsson